ANFP, CBDM, NFEF Announce 2019-2020 Leadership

Released: 8-July-2019
Contact Information
Emmy Bender
Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals
Marketing Associate
800.323.1908 x127

ANFP Announces 2019-2020 Officers and Directors

St. Charles, Ill. — The Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals (ANFP) is pleased to announce its incoming leaders. These individuals will serve for the 2019-2020 year and took office on June 1. They represent the Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals, the Certifying Board for Dietary Managers (CBDM), and/or the Nutrition & Foodservice Education Foundation (NFEF). 

John Hickson, CCA, CDM, CFPP, FMP, MCFE of Slidell, LA, will serve as ANFP’s Chair of the Board, having previously served as Chair-Elect. Hickson is the President/CEO for Safe Culinary Operation Restaurant Education Co. LLC. He has 33 years of experience in the foodservice industry.

Richard P. Nickless, CEC, CCA, AAC, CDM, CFPP of Hanahan, SC, will serve as the new Chair-Elect. His prior experience with ANFP includes as Director at Large, Treasurer-Elect and Treasurer. Nickless is the Chef/Supply & Services Director at DDSN Coastal Center and brings 45 years of experience in foodservice to the Board. 

Serving as Treasurer is Omar Humes, CDM, CFPP. Humes is a Food Services Director at PruittHealth and has over 28 years of experience in foodservice. He most recently served as ANFP's Treasurer-Elect. ANFP’s Treasurer-Elect is Felicia Smith, MHA, CDM, CFPP. Smith previously served as a Director at Large on the Board and is the past president of WY ANFP. She is the Director of Hospitality Services at Memorial Hospital of Converse County and has over 20 years of foodservice experience. 

ANFP’s Immediate Past Chair is Sharon Vermeer, CDM, CFPP of Orange City, IA. Vemeer has over 21 years of foodservice experience. Joyce Gilbert, PhD, RDN remains the ANFP President and CEO. 

Our new Directors at Large are Jessica Weisbrich, RDN, LD, CDM, CFPP; Renee Spence, CDM, CFPP (Young Professional); and Amy Bollam, RD, LD, MPS (Corporate Partner). Continuing in their roles as Directors at Large are Judith Hazlett, CDM CFPP; Randy Husted, CDM, CFPP; Jeremy Manners, CDM, CFPP, FMP; Kenneth Owens, CDM, CFPP; Monica Perry, RDN, LD; Marjorie R. Smith, CDM, CFPP; Kelley Vande Lune, MBA: and Donna Wixted, BS. 

CBDM Announces New Board Members

The Certifying Board for Dietary Managers (CBDM) – the credentialing agency for ANFP – announces Thomas Thaman, CDM, CFPP as the new Chair of the Board. Thaman, of Indianapolis, IN, has 42 years of foodservice experience and is currently the Director of Food and Nutrition at Eskenazi Health. 

James F. Thoma, CDM, CFPP is new to the CBDM this year. He is the Dining Services Manager at Penswood Village and will serve as a Director. Thoma has 34 years of foodservice experience and previously served on the CBDM Item Writers and ANFP Professional Development Committees.

Continuing their service to the CBDM are DeLaine M. Rasmussen, MS, RDN, CDE, CDM, CFPP; Zerrin Sayar, Karen L. Werner, CDM, CFPP; and Jen Wright, MA, CDM, CFPP. 

NFEF Announces Chair and Trustees

Shellee Roloff will serve as the new chair of the Nutrition & Foodservice Education Foundation. Roloff previously served as the Chair-Elect. The new Treasurer is Omar Humes, CDM, CFPP. The NFEF also welcomes new Trustee Nancy Merkel, CDM, CFPP. The Immediate Past Chair is Kim Kyle, CDM, CFPP; and the Chair-Elect is Kenneth Hanson, CPM, CDM, CFPP. 

Continuing their service to the NFEF are Trustees Gary Blake; Mary Hanna-Schupp, CDM, CFPP;  Nick Kruthaupt; Shona McCue, CDM, CFPP; Dorothy Radermacher, CDM, CFPP; and Lisa Votapka, CDM, CFPP. 

Congratulations to our new and continuing leaders on the ANFP Board, the Certifying Board and the Foundation Board. 

ANFP is a national not-for-profit association established in 1960 that represents more than 15,000 professional members dedicated to the mission of providing optimum nutritional care through nutrition and foodservice management. ANFP members work in hospitals, long-term care facilities, correctional facilities and other non-commercial food settings. 

Printable PDF Flyer