Standards of Practice

Professional Practice Standards serve as the basis for quality dietetic practice for dietary managers. They serve as a guide for self-evaluation to determine the education and skills needed to advance an individual's level of practice.

Competency Area 1: Nutrition

Fluid Intake: Assessing Fluid Needs & Documenting Intake

Documenting in the Medical Record

Competency Area 2: Foodservice

Calculating Food Costs

Measuring Meal Production & Calculating Meal Equivalents

Determining Menu Item Prices

Menu Planning

Competency Area 3: Personnel & Communications

Estimating Staffing Needs

Calculating FTEs

Competency Area 4: Sanitation & Safety

Emergency Planning

Food Safety

Food Storage Guidelines

Competency Level 5: Business Operations

Controlling Costs in Foodservice

Foodservice Department Catering