ANFP Announces 2017-18 Officers and Directors

Released: 15-June- 2017
Contact Information
Emily Fairall
Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals
Marketing Coordinator
Phone: 800.323.1908 x127

ANFP Announces 2017-18 Officers and Directors

St. Charles, IL - The Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals (ANFP) is pleased to announce its new 2017-2018 national leaders. These individuals took office June 1, 2017 and serve the association on the ANFP Board of Directors and the Certifying Board for Dietary Managers.

Ken Hanson, CPM, CDM, CFPP of Ankeny, IA is ANFP’s new Chair of the Board after previously serving as Chair Elect. Hanson is Jail Services Supervisor at the Polk County Sheriff’s Office. Hanson has 30 years of foodservice experience and previously served as an ANFP Director at Large and Treasurer.

Sharon Vermeer, CDM, CFPP of Maurice, IA, is this year’s Chair Elect. Vermeer is the Food Services Manager for Orange City Area Health System. She has 20 years of foodservice experience.

ANFP’s Treasurer is Richard Hoelzel, FMP, CDM, CFPP from Janesville, WI. Hoelzel is the Regional Director of Operations West at Bateman Community Living. He has 30 years of foodservice experience. Richard P. Nickless, CEC, CCA, AAC, CDM, CFPP from Hanahan, SC, is the Treasurer Elect. Nickless is the Chef Supply & Services Director at DDSN Coastal Center and has more than 45 years of experience in the food industry.

Serving as Immediate Past Chair is Janice M. Hemel, CDM, CFPP of Dighton, KS. Hemel is a Certified Dietary Manager/Foodservice Supervisor at Lane County Hospital. She has worked in the foodservice industry for 30 years and previously served on the ANFP Board as Chair and Treasurer. Joyce Gilbert, PhD, RDN remains the ANFP President and CEO.

ANFP has three new Directors at Large. Jeremy Manners, CDM, CFPP, FMP; Marjorie Smith, CDM, CFPP; and Dana Fillmore, RD, CP-FS, Gordon Food Service (Corporate Partner).

Continuing their terms as ANFP Directors at Large are: Mildred Bailey-Zarate, CDM, CFPP; Cindy Cothern, CDM, CFPP; John Hickson, CCA, CDM, CFPP, FMP; Omar Humes, CDM, CFPP; Felicia Smith, CDM, CFPP; Gary Blake, Creative Solutions in Healthcare (Industry Partner); Andrew Campbell, CMM, CMP; University of Florida (Industry Partner); and Victoria Gardner, Sysco (Corporate Partner).

CBDM Announces New Board Member

The Certifying Board for Dietary Managers (CBDM) – which is responsible for ANFP’s certification program – announces one new member. Jen Wright, MA, CDM, CFPP, has more than 40 years of healthcare and foodservice experience. She is currently Director of Client Services including Nutrition; Activities; Social Services & Resident Relations in a skilled & long-term care facility.

Continuing their service on the Certifying Board are CarieAnn Williams, CDM, CFPP (Chair); Nicole Clapp, RN, MSN, FACHE; Theresa Fightmaster, MEd; Kristin Klinefelter, MS, RDN, LDN; Thomas Thaman, CDM, CFPP, AHCFA; and Barbara Thomsen, RAC-CT, ICAC, CDM, CFPP.

NFEF Announces New Board Members and Trustees

The Nutrition & Foodservice Education Foundation (NFEF) – The philanthropic arm of ANFP, organized to advance education and research – announces Mary Hanna Schupp, BS, CDM, CFPP, as the new Chair. She is the District Manager at Health Care Service Group in Phoenix, AZ. Kim Kyle, CDM, CFPP, will serve as the new Chair Elect. She is the Dietary Consultant for Creative Solutions in Healthcare in Collinsville, TX. Richard Hoelzel, FMP, CDM, CFPP from Janesville, WI, is the new Treasurer Elect. Hoelzel is the Regional Director of Operations West at Bateman Community Living. Ginger Cater, MEd, CDM, CFPP, is the Immediate Past Chair. Cater is the Director of Food & Nutritional Services at Ellen Sagar Nursing Center.

Continuing their service on the Foundation are Nick Kruthaupt; Kathryn Massey, BA, CDM, CFPP; Shona McCue, CDM, CFPP; Shellee Roloff, CFSP; Becky Rude, MS, RD, CDM, CFPP; and Lisa Votapka, CDM, CFPP.

Congratulations to our new and continuing leaders on the ANFP Board, the Certifying Board, and the Foundation Board.

Click below to download a printable flyer with the information on this page.

Printable PDF Flyer