ANFP Announces 2016-17 Officers and Directors

Released: 22-June-2016
Contact Information
Brad Rysz
Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals
Director of Marketing & Communications
Phone: 800.323.1908 x126

ANFP Announces 2016-2017 Officers and Directors

ST. CHARLES, IL – The Association of Nutrition & Foodservice Professionals (ANFP) is pleased to announce its new 2016-2017 national leaders. These individuals took office June 1, 2016 and serve the association on the ANFP Board of Directors and the Certifying Board for Dietary Managers.

Janice M. Hemel, CDM, CFPP of Dighton, KS is ANFP’s new Chair of the Board after previously serving as Chair Elect. Hemel is a Certified Dietary Manager/Foodservice Supervisor at Lane County Hospital. She has worked in the foodservice industry for 30 years and previously served on the ANFP Board as Treasurer.

Ken Hanson, CPM, CDM, CFPP of Ankeny, IA is this year’s Chair Elect. Hanson is Jail Services Supervisor at the Polk County Sheriff’s Office. Hanson has 30 years of foodservice experience and previously served as an ANFP Director at Large and Treasurer.

ANFP’s Treasurer is Sharon Vermeer, CDM, CFPP of Maurice, IA. Vermeer is the Food Services Manager for Orange City Area Health System. She has 20 years of foodservice experience. Serving as Immediate Past Chair is Deborah McDonald, CDM, CFPP of Burkburnett, TX. McDonald, who served as ANFP Chair in 2015-2016, is the Program Administrator of Food Service at North Texas State Hospital. She has worked in food service for nearly 36 years.

Richard Hoelzel, FMP, CDM, CFPP from Janesville, WI is the new Treasurer Elect. Hoelzel is the Corporate Executive Chef at Morrison Community Living. He has 30 years of foodservice experience.

ANFP has five new Directors at Large. Omar Humes, CDM, CFPP of Durham, NC, is the Food Service Director at Pruitt Health. Humes has worked in foodservice for 24 years. Felicia Smith, CDM, CFPP of Orin, WY is the Director of Hospitality Services at Memorial Hospital of Converse County. Smith has been in foodservice for 17 years. Mildred Bailey-Zarate, CDM, CFPP of Johnson Creek, WI is the Dietary Manager at Good Samaritan Lodi. Bailey-Zarate has worked in foodservice for 23 years. Victoria Gardner of Houston, TX serves as a Director at Large – Corporate Partner for ANFP. Gardner is the Regional Vice President, Multi-Unit Healthcare & Hospitality Sales at Sysco Corporation. Andrew Campbell, CMM, CMP of Gainesville, FL joins as Director at Large – Industry Partner. Campbell is the Director of Professional Development, Executive Education & Conferences, UF Distance & Continuing Education at the University of Florida.

Continuing their terms as ANFP Directors at Large are: Gary Blake, Creative Solutions in Healthcare (Industry Partner); Cindy Cothern, CDM, CFPP; John Hickson, CCA, FMP, CHESP, CDM, CFPP; Larry Jackson, CDM, CFPP; Carl Mulder, Aladdin Temp-Rite (Corporate Partner); and Richard Nickless, CEC, CDM, CFPP.

CBDM Announces New Board Member

The Certifying Board for Dietary Managers (CBDM) – which is responsible for ANFP’s certification program – announces one new member. Tom Thaman, CDM, CFPP, AHCFA from Indianapolis is the Director of Food and Nutrition at Eskenazi Health and has worked in the foodservice industry for 38 years.

Continuing their service on the Certifying Board are CarieAnn Williams, CDM, CFPP (Chair); Nicole Clapp, RN, MSN, FACHE; Theresa Fightmaster, MEd, MS; Kristin Klinefelter, MS, RDN, LD; and Barbara Thomsen, CDM, CFPP, RAC CT.

NFEF Announces New Board Trustee

The Nutrition & Foodservice Education Foundation (NFEF) – the philanthropic arm of ANFP, organized to advance education and research – announces Sharon Vermeer, CDM, CFPP as the new Treasurer of the Foundation. Vermeer also serves in the equivalent role on the ANFP Board of Directors. Mary Hanna Schupp, CDM, CFPP will serve as the Chair Elect. She is the Director of Nutrition and Dining Services at Health Care Service Group in Phoenix, AZ. NFEF also has four new trustees. Kathryn Massey, BA, CDM, CFPP is the Certified Dietary Manager at Floyd Valley Hospital in Sioux City, IA. Thomas Schoenewald III, CDM, CFPP is the Food Services Director at Hot Springs City Memorial Hospital in Thermopolis, WY. Lisa Votapka, CDM, CFPP is the Food Service Director at Cobblestone Inn & Suites in Oberlin, KS.

Continuing their service on the Foundation are Ginger Cater, MEd, CDM, CFPP (Chair); Catherine Cape; Linda Halverson, CDM, CFPP; Nick Kruthaupt; Jeremy Manners, CDM, CFPP, FMP (Immediate Past Chair); Shona McCue, CDM, CFPP; Shellee Roloff, CFSP; and Becky Rude, MS, RD, CDM, CFPP.

Congratulations to our new and continuing leaders on the ANFP Board, the Certifying Board, and the Foundation Board.

Click below to download a printable flyer with the information on this page.

Printable PDF Flyer